Skip to content

Friday, February 4, 2011 – Here it Goes!

February 20, 2011
faces
I will be departing on the adventure of a lifetime in about two to three weeks from now. I am waiting for my business VISA from the Ethiopian embassy and on the immunizations I must obtain.
Today I scheduled my appointments to see the dentist, get a physical along with immunizations (never had to get so many!), along with trying to fit in some scuba dives and a skydiving trip in Santa Barbara before I leave.

A brief introduction of what I will be doing: I was chosen to be the JDC Jewish Service Corps (JSC) fellow for Ethiopia. Here is the direct link to a description of the JSC: http://www.jdc.org/help-jdc/get-involved.aspx?id=1418

A little about the JDC…”The The American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC) is the world’s leading Jewish humanitarian assistance organization. JDC works in more than 70 countries and in Israel to alleviate hunger and hardship, rescue Jews in danger, create lasting connections to Jewish life, and provide immediate relief and long-term development support for victims of natural and man-made disasters”

I will be joining Dr. Rick Hodes in his home town of Addis Ababa, where he has lived for over 22 years. His website is http://rickhodes.org/ and a few YouTube videos I recommend to watch are these: HBO Trailer: Making the Crooked Straight, Person of the Week, and an Interview with ABC News.

A very brief summary about myself to those who do not know me. I graduated from the University of California, Santa Barbara in June of 2010. I graduated with a Bachelors of Science in molecular and cellular biology. I am taking a year off before I attend medical school. I could not think of a better way to spend it than what I am about to embark on!

To be continued…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Johannes permalink
    February 20, 2011 11:24 PM

    Good luck Shaun !

  2. David Goldstone permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:25 PM

    Shaun – so proud of you my darling – travel safe and enjoy this trip and opportunity of a lifetime.

  3. Sharon permalink
    February 21, 2011 7:58 PM

    This is such a fantastic opportunity for you…I am looking forward to reading your blog and currently reading This is a Soul by Marilyn Berger…it’s fantastic!

  4. Elyse Kirmaci permalink
    February 22, 2011 5:00 AM

    All the best. I am always thinking about you. So proud of you and everything that you’re doing! I love you.

  5. Ilana Goldstone permalink
    February 23, 2011 10:24 AM

    A humbling experience awaits you.

    With so much love and support behind you, you will soar to new heights.

    So eager to follow you along your journey. Please keep us posted.

    Proudest Mom Ever!

  6. Bryan Dworsky permalink
    February 25, 2011 2:15 AM

    Awesome gig Shaun. I’m a bit jealous, pretty proud, and a whole lot stoked. Well both bring stories over cribbage when you get back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

